Who Are The Cardinal Zodiac Signs In Astrology & 5 Things That Make Them Different Than The Rest

Cardinal Signs Zodiac Signs Astrology

You need motivation? Hire a cardinal sign as your life coach to help you get started on your life.

In astrology, there are four cardinal sign within the zodiac that represents a different element but even though their elements are different, each of these zodiac signs share one core personality trait — they are people who initiate big changes.

The four cardinal signs of the zodiac are:

  • ARIES (March 21 - April 19)
  • CANCER (June 21 - July 22)
  • LIBRA (September 23 - October 22)
  • CAPRICORN (December 22 - January 19)

At first glance, cardinal signs seem very different from one another on a surface level. Aries is a fire sign, Cancer is a water sign, Libra is an air sign, and Capricorn is an earth sign.

RELATED: Zodiac Signs Who Are Complete Opposites — But Attract Each Other Like Crazy

Despite their element's differences, each cardinal sign is an initiator of change. More than a self-starter, they possess unique leadership traits that you might spot in a Scorpio or a Leo, (but with less notoriousness).

Cardinal signs love having a vision and creating plans with set goals that achieve those dreams. 

They tend to influence other zodiac signs, even if their power is more understated than that of a more aggressive horoscope sign.

This is especially true in the emotional sense. They have their own wonderful leadership qualities such as passionate fieriness and a competitive edge.

They value order and it manifests in different situations every time. Since they’re frequently surrounded by others, they are insightful people with keen insight.

RELATED: Majority Of World's Leaders Share THIS Zodiac Sign

For example, Aries may be more traditionally masculine because of their athleticism. Cancer may be more traditionally feminine because their desires revolve around the home and homemaking. So, Aries might want a gold medal whereas Cancer might just want to host dinners.

Capricorn may be more old-fashioned in their ways because they place a high value on tradition. Libra is more of a peacemaker concerned with social justice.  For example, they both value community.

Read on to learn more about astrology's cardinal sign traits that might apply to your horoscope or the zodiac sign of a loved one that falls under a cardinal sign!

1. Cardinal signs are known for their determination.

All of the cardinal signs, (Aries, Cancer, Capricorn, Libra) make for highly-determined individuals. These are, after all, the initiators of the zodiac signs and they start the action or come up with plans to achieve long-term goals.

ARIES (March 21 - April 19)

Aries takes a direct approach. Aries, for example, you are  impulsive and physically aggressive in manner. You can be found outdoors in friendly competitions.

CANCER (June 21 - July 22)

Cancer zodiac signs meet challenging situations by sentiment and sensing the energy in their environments. A Cancer will often need to retreat into their inner self to feel their way through a situation. 

LIBRA (September 23 - October 22)

Like Capricorn, Libra you're a natural empath resolving problems with emotional intelligence. Libra has a vision for how the world should be and it should include justice. Unlike Capricorn, you have amore sympathetic approach when achieving their goal of living in a just and fair utopia.

CAPRICORN (December 22 - January 19)

Capricorn might progress slow and steady. Capricorns love their routines and get irritated if they’re not followed. You have strategic thinking that makes them believe everything should meet their standards. You’re the kind to sit down and make a vision board or have a blue print.

RELATED: 8 Things You MUST Have To Be Successful (Completely HAPPY)

2. They tend to be more emotionally intelligent.

They’re all surprisingly emotional, and some would even say moody. It’s just that they’re all prone to displaying different emotions such as anger and sadness.

ARIES (March 21 - April 19)

Aries, again, is aggressive and prone to displaying anger. If you’re an Aries, you probably hate cheating in competitions and get mad at people who do it.

CANCER (June 21 - July 22)

Cancer is soft and it shows through their care for their homes, art, and their mother. Walk into their homes, and you’ll see how decorative they are as people.

CAPRICORN (December 22 - January 19

Capricorn has a need for routines and traditions in their life. This makes you highly irritable when any of them get disturbed. 

LIBRA (September 23 - October 22)

To achieve their goal of a just world, they also have to possess high intelligence. Libra, you use it to hear all sides of a story. This was a common characteristic in my friendship with the Libra I mentioned earlier.

RELATED: 9 Signs You (Or Someone You Love) Is A Highly Sensitive Person

3. They are surprisingly people-oriented.

After getting to know people of these signs, it becomes apparent that they’re people-oriented. Meaning, to accomplish their tasks, they have to be around people.

ARIES (March 21 - April 19)

Dynamic Aries, because of your love for challenges and sport, you enjoy being around people who can compete with you. People are seen as a way to have more self-improvement.

CANCER (June 21 - July 22)

Cancer is the homemaker of the zodiac, so you enjoy the idea of having a relationship, having children, and having friends over for dinners. You are the friends who take care of others all the time.

CAPRICORN (December 22 - January 19)

Capricorn loves their family too and that’s part of the reason they love traditions. You need to enlist  family in helping  pass down their beloved traditions.

LIBRA (September 23 - October 22)

Libra is always finding themselves in social situations where they can impart their advice or give their perspective on justice. It is part of their essence to serve people.

RELATED: The KEY Role You Play In Your Squad (According To Your Zodiac Sign)

4. But they also tend to be more pessimistic than the other zodiac signs.

Unfortunately, due to the fact these signs are always around people, they can become emotional sponges. Some signs more than others. So, they start shaping their views negatively.

They remember past grievances and hold grudges. People under these signs need to learn to...leeettt iiittt goooo. You cardinal signs don’t mean to hold onto a grudge. You’re just emotional people in tune with others and can’t believe they will do you harm.

RELATED: Why Pessimists Have Longer, More Satisfying Marriages, According To Science

5. Cardinal signs are the self-initiators of astrology.

Like I said earlier, these are the signs that initiate the most. often compared to other zodiac signs of other qualities. They either jump straight into a new action like Aries. My brother wants to go to Russia for his first solo trip.

Or, they come up with long-term plans like Cancer and Capricorn that they adhere to relentlessly. My friend is committed to a career in writing. 

They’ll take those plans and analyze them from all angles like in the case of Libra. All to be able to accomplish their ambitions. Usually, it’s to involve their loved ones in their plan for a more fulfilling life as they see fit.

So, again, cardinal signs make for some determined, caring, leaders with awesome people skills. They just have to not get overwhelmed with life’s issues and allow it to become long-lasting grudges.

RELATED: Women Should Always be Initiators, Reciprocators, or Rejecters