What Are The Fire Signs? Aries, Leo & Sagittarius Traits

Photo: getty
colorful friendship women

The elements in astrology are determined by the celestial activity that took place at the time of your birth. These four elements — fire, earth, air, and water — create an alignment between our cosmic energies and the natural world. 

Each of the 12 signs of the Zodiac are grouped into Fire signs (Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius), Earth signs (Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo), Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces), and Air signs (Libra, Aquarius, and Gemini).

RELATED: Sun Sign Meaning: What The Sun Means For Your Zodiac Sign

Though each sign expresses their element differently, using these astrology elements as a guide gives powerful insight into an individual's approach to life and how they interact with other signs.

What are the Fire signs in astrology?

In astrology, there are three unique zodiac signs who share energy but express that element's property differently. The three fire signs are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. 

The fire element is full of passion, spontaneity, and drive.

Fire Sign Traits

The element of fire is a symbol of creation, energy, and burning passion. Fire signs are associated with masculine energy and tend to burst into action or lead in communication. 

Fire enjoys outdoor activities and celebrating the gifts of mother nature. Fire releases friendly energy and are sociable. They are often the leaders of their pack, overflowing with enthusiasm for life. 

Along with Fire’s excessive zeal, strong fire elements tend to have emotional mood swings, restlessness, and manipulative behavior. They can be quick-tempered and hot-headed. Their restlessness can come across as impatient or lacking in empathy

If anyone needs advice or a blunt response, head over to your friendly fire element. A Fire sign could lash out if you throw shade or gossip about their loved ones.

Unique Characteristics of Zodiac Fire Signs: Aries, Leo And Sagittarius

Aries (March 21 - April 19)

Symbol: The Ram

Planetary Ruler: Mars

Modality: Cardinal

Power Color: Red

Core personality traits: Aries have a dynamic personality with a competitive outlook in their daily lives. Cardinal signs are leaders, and Aries knows how to take charge.

Aries enjoys going to social gatherings where they can be communicative and expressive. Of course, this Fire sign can be guilty of speaking before they think and running head first into situations they have no place in.

Strengths: Loyalty, determination, resilience, strong leadership, problem-solving skills

Weaknesses: Impatience, mood swings, short fuse, impulsiveness

Best Love Matches: Gemini, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, Capricorn

Leo (July 23 - August 22)

Symbol: The Lion

Planetary Ruler: Sun

Modality: Fixed

Power Colors: Gold, Yellow, Orange

Core personality traits: Leo is a Fixed Fire sign, which means they're the loyal, strong member of the pack, even if they are a little bit stuck in their ways. Leos love to be the center of attention and to dazzle their friends with their creativity, humor, and flair for dramatics.

Leos make loyal friends but, in times of conflict, their damaged pride and ego can cause them to be intolerant and inflexible for others. 

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Join now for YourTango's trending articles, top expert advice and personal horoscopes delivered straight to your inbox each morning.

Strengths: Courageous, loyal, natural-born leader, passionate

Weaknesses: Arrogant, stubborn, lazy, inflexible

Best Love Matches: Aries, Gemini, Sagittarius, Aquarius

RELATED: Is Your Zodiac Sign Cardinal, Fixed Or Mutable?

Sagittarius (November 22 - December 21)

Symbol: The Archer

Planetary Ruler: Jupiter

Modality: Mutable

Power Color: Blue

Core personality traits: As a Mutable sign, Sagittarius is the most flexible of the Fire signs. They're optimistic, free-spirited and feel comfortable going with the flow.

Ruled by Jupiter, the planet of fortune and exploration, Sagittarius tends to attract and exude positive energy. They are spontaneous, even a little restless, and love to be on the move exploring new sights and lands.

This Archer has a need to protect others, but acting without thinking of consequences can get this Fire sign into trouble from time to time. 

Strengths: Energetic, ambitious, optimistic, caring, excitable

Weaknesses: Impulsive, hot-headed, restless, unable to commit

Best Love Matches: Gemini, Aries

Fire Sign Compatibility with Earth, Air, and Water Signs

The three astrology signs under each element often stick with their own element.

That means fiery Leo, Aries and Sagittarius are typically compatible with others who have a Fire sign in their chart. However, they may still find themselves hitting it off with other elements of the Zodiac.

Fire Signs and Earth Signs

Earth signs can be a grounding energy for Fire. With their pragmatism and practicality, Earth signs can transform some of Fire's ambitions into reality. Fire signs may also be able to ignite more passion in slow-moving Earth signs.

That said, these two elements move at a very different pace. Fire signs often become frustrated with Earth sign's inability to act quickly and keep moving, where Earth may feel misunderstood by Fire. 

Fire Signs and Air Signs

These two share big ideas and inspired thoughts. While Air signs can always keep sight of the bigger picture, Fire signs can spur thought into action and work towards the goals these two set together.

Sociable and fun-loving, these two elements have the best time together and love to discover new adventures as a duo. They balance one another in all the best ways. 

Fire Signs and Water Signs

Water signs are truth-seekers who can find empowerment in their relationship with a Fire sign who loves to inspire and instill passion in others. Water signs carry feminine energy, acting as a yin to Fire's yang.

Highly emotional Water signs do have a tendency to smother a Fire sign with their need for insular intimacy, however. 

RELATED: The Meaning Of The 12 Astrology Houses And A Guide On How To Find Your House

Alice Kelly is a writer and storyteller with a passion for love, relationships, and all things related to the soul. For more, you can find her on Twitter.