What Each Planet Means, According To Astrology

Photo: pexels
What Each Planet Means, According To Astrology

The planets aligned at very specific locations when you were born. The date, time, and location of your birth produces your astrological birth chart.

From the information presented in your chart, you can get insight into defining characteristics of your personality, your stimulus-response tendencies, and your compatibility with others.

RELATED: What Is An Astrology Zodiac Sign Natal Chart & Where To Get Yours For Free

You can learn about when certain milestones might happen in your life and give you goals to work towards.

The basis of your personality tells the most about you and how you deal with others. 

Your birth chart also can tell you which sign rules each planet in your life. These traits can give you insight into different elements of your life.

You can learn about your love patterns, your social tendencies, and the extent of your communication skills.

Because each planet is responsible for different aspects of you, this extension to your Sun sign makes you extremely unique and one-of-a-kind!


1. SUN

The Sun rules Leo.

The Sun is the most popular planet in astrology. It tells you what your dominating, overall personality traits are.

It describes your core essence; it’s what makes you, you! 

RELATED: What Is A South Node In An Astrology Chart, And What Each Zodiac Sign Placement Means


The Moon rules Cancer.

The Moon in astrology is very similar to its role in tangible life. It is the reflection of your core essence.

The Moon represents our unconscious selves. It is the underlying traits that always shown on the surface.

It tells us about our feelings, moods, and desires. 

RELATED: What Is A Moon Sign & What Does Yours Mean, According To Astrology


Mercury rules Gemini and Virgo.

Mercury rules communication and technology. It has everything to do with logical reasoning and language.

This is often why we experience issues in communication when Mercury is in retrograde. Mercury remains in a sign from 14-40 days and can be in one particular zodiac sign longer than another due to rx season.

RELATED: The Person You're Most Compatible With, Based On Your Mercury Sign


Venus rules Taurus and Libra.

Venus is in charge of all things love, relationship, and beauty. Think about ancient mythology.

Venus is the Goddess of love. Your Venus sign will show what you find attractive and interesting. 

RELATED: Find Out Your Secret Venus Sign — And What It Says About Your Personality


Mars rules Aries and is the ancient ruler of Scorpio. 

Mars is responsible for our instinctual, animalistic reactions.

It is centered on the topics of passion, sex, aggression, and competitiveness. It also describes our motivation to fulfill our desires. 

RELATED: What Is Your Mars Sign — And How It Affects Your Personality And Love Life



This planet rules our optimism and sense of hope. It tells us where we will find happiness and how we will find satisfaction in fulfilling our higher purpose.

It can tell you when you will find your self lucky along your walk with life. It rules Sagittarius.

RELATED: How Lucky You Are In Life, According To Your Zodiac Sign


Saturn brings us back down to reality because it dictates discipline, responsibility, and obligation.

With Saturn, we can see our limitations and be reminded to stay practical when chasing our wilder dreams.

It tells us where we may run into obstacles and how we can overcome them. Saturn rules Capricorn.

RELATED: The PERFECT Careers For Each Of The Zodiac Signs


Uranus is the inverse of Saturn. It tells us about the spontaneity, unpredictability, and openness we will express in our lives.

Your birth chart can tell you under which circumstances you may feel Uranus present in your life. It rules Aquarius. 

RELATED: Spot-On Facts About The Aquarius Zodiac Sign Explain These Compassionate, Intelligent People Perfectly


Neptune completes its cycle every 10-12 years, so it is the first of the generational planetary descriptors.

It represents the metaphysical desires and dreams we have. It deals with our imagination and our concept of reality.

It also has a lot to do with where we find creative inspiration in life. It rules Pisces.

RELATED: Facts About The Pisces Horoscope Sign That Explain These Wise, Old Souls Perfectly 


Pluto is the last of the astrological planets. It is also a generational descriptor because its cycle takes 12-15 years to complete.

Pluto is the symbol of evolution, death, and rebirth. It dictates our power and our adaptability. Pluto rules Scorpio.

RELATED: What's Your Pluto Sign — And How It Affects Your Personality And Love Life

Madison Kerth is a writer who covers astrology, pop culture and relationship topics.