What Planet Is The Wounded Healer & How Does Chiron Affect Your Zodiac Sign

Photo: unsplash
All 12 Zodiac Sign Horoscopes & Astrology Meaning For The Planet Chiron Of Greek Mythology

What is the meaning of the planet, Chiron, and why is it called the Wounded Healer?

In astrology, there are a lot of factors that go into explaining who you are and why certain things happened or will happen, etc.

As I’m still fairly new to all this, I’ve been learning all about the other forces other than just zodiac signs.

One of the newest ones for me is the Greek Mythological figure, Chiron, who is considered a planet in astrology and located in everyone's horoscope and chart.

RELATED: Your Deepest Emotional Wound, According To Astrology

Chiron (pronounced ki-ron) is an object in space that sits between Saturn and Uranus. Some classify it as a minor planetary body, others call it a comet, and it was originally considered as just a simple asteroid. For the purposes of keeping things easy to follow, we’ll just call it an asteroid.

The namesake for this space rock comes from Greek mythology. In the legends, Chiron was a centaur and the son of the mighty god Cronus. He was born with the ability to heal, along with being skilled in philosophy and teaching. And, just like any other god, he was immortal. However, he gave up his immortality so man could create fire.

The irony of Chiron is that he’s become known as the wounded healer (an oxymoron). He can heal anyone other than himself. Because of his life, astrology took this and applied it to a more philosophical scale.

In astrology, Chiron represents your biggest wounds or weaknesses, but through those, it’s how you gain wisdom and your own personal ability to heal others.

In the physical world, Chiron works like this- due to its positioning in space, Chiron typically stays with each zodiac for around eight years. But, just because it’s with one doesn’t mean it stays with just one the entire eight years.

RELATED: What The Planets Your Horoscope Always Mentions Actually Mean

For example, currently, Chiron is in Aries, which began in April of 2018. During this time though, Chiron will retrograde into Pisces and hit Taurus twice while coming back to Aries.

And with Chiron, everyone has what’s called a natal Chiron sign which is where the asteroid was when you were born.

Of course, Chiron means different things for different zodiac signs. So from Aries to Pisces, here’s a horoscope for what the Wounded Healer means for you, according to astrology.

ARIES (March 21 – April 19)

Aries, your wounds are your anger management skills and highly competitive nature, along with your constant need to be first and comparing yourself to others.

So how do you heal others? These wounds also help you to be confident in your individuality and prompt others to do the same.

RELATED: 13 Brutal Truths About Loving An Aries (As Written By One)

TAURUS (April 20 – May 20)

Taurus, you can be extremely stubborn. Because of that, one of your wounds is being resistant to change. You also are easily attached to material things, such as food and drinks, to the point where it’s practically an addiction. That also leads to money troubles.

However, through this, you’re able to become more financially capable and show others as well, and your stubbornness also becomes the rock that people need during difficult times.

RELATED: 5 Brutal Truths About Loving A Taurus (As Written By One)

GEMINI (May 21 – June 20)

Gemini, you have wounds from being alone which are also why you develop an addiction to gossip. You want to constantly be in the loop and talking. You also have some anxiety and are afraid to be judged.

But because of your feelings, you know how others feel. You put people at ease and easily connect with others, helping to make them feel included.

RELATED: 13 Brutal Truths About Loving A Gemini (As Written By One)

CANCER (June 21 – July 22)

Cancer, your wounds have to deal with insecurity, particularly with not feeling safe. You also have a strong fear of strangers (xenophobia) and possibly family dysfunction. However, you can use this to heal others because you know from your struggles how to build a safe haven so people don’t have to feel the way you have.

RELATED: 5 Brutal Truths About Loving A Cancer (As Written By One)

LEO (July 23 – August 22)

The wound for a Leo is being in need of constant validation and approval. You always want the eyes on you and you want people to tell you you’re doing well. But this also works in your favor as it makes you want to encourage others as well.

RELATED: 6 Brutal Truths About Loving a Leo (As Written By One)

VIRGO (August 23 – September 22)

Virgo, you have wounds from trying to please everyone and being highly critical of yourself and others. It’s so bad that it makes the view you have of yourself distorted. Because of all this criticism though, you know how to better help others better their lives.

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving A Virgo (As Written By One)

Advertisement Are you ready for a relationship? Click here to get clarity with a psychic reading!

LIBRA (September 23 – October 22)

There are two big wounds for Libras- relationships and forcing peace. You don’t want to commit to anything, but once you do you have major trouble ending it. You also will try to make things peaceful no matter what. But through this, you know how to make peace with and between others, along with being a bit of a cupid.

RELATED: 11 Brutal Truths About Loving A Libra (As Written By One)

SCORPIO (October 23 – November 21)

Scorpio, your wounds are a matter of extremes. You go through power struggles (metaphorically or real), you get very jealous and you have trouble leaving a toxic relationship. Thanks to your major struggles though, you know how to help others through their big life events such as a birth, death or any other life transitions.

RELATED: 14 Brutal Truths About Loving A Scorpio (As Written By One)

SAGITTARIUS (November 22 – December 21)

Sagittarius, your wounds are tending to be disruptive when you act like a nomad while following the newest trend and being completely tactless. However, through your experience, you know how to at least tell the truth with compassion and if someone’s sad, you’ve got your sense of humor to make them feel better.

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving A Sagittarius (As Written By One)

CAPRICORN (December 22 – January 19)

Capricorn, your biggest wound is unhealthy ambition. While it’s good to have goals, you’ve made it your life, even turning your job into an escape from reality. The silver lining from this obsession is that you’re super focused which means you can stay pretty level-headed and know how to make the most out of any situation for everyone.

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving a Capricorn (As Written By One)

AQUARIUS (January 20 – February 18)

Aquarius, you have the wound of destructive rebellion. Being a rebel can work out fine and all, but you sometimes go too far. However, because of your rebellious nature, you know how to fight for what’s right and inspire others to do so as well.

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving An Aquarius (As Written By One)

PISCES (February 19 – March 20)

Pisces, your wounds are what cause you to want to escape from reality. You try to find any sort of escape and you don’t really live in reality, which can possibly lead to some sort of addiction. But, because of your not-grounded-in-reality thinking, you’re able to help others let go of their limits and help them to live out their fantasies.

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving A Pisces (As Written By One)

Jesse Oakley is a writer who writes about love, relationships and self-care.

Get your horoscope delivered to your inbox daily!