Zodiac, Self

6 Self-Aware Zodiac Signs Who Know Who They Are And Accept Themselves

Photo: getty
self-aware zodiac signs

Of all the gifts that we can have, the knowledge and acceptance of one’s self are the most valuable. It's especially valuable in astrology.

When you’re one of the self-aware zodiac signs and can embrace both your strengths and your weaknesses, then you’re able to love yourself unconditionally. For most people, this isn’t an easy state to get to, and they may struggle all their lives to get to this point, even if their horoscope encourages them otherwise.

Many people are extremely self-critical and end up rejecting themselves at every turn. They think they’re too flawed, too strange, and that they’re so broken that they’ll never be whole. They don’t see that self-awareness and self-acceptance are both something that they can achieve at any point in their lives, and that if they don’t have it now, it doesn't mean they can’t get it in the future.

Acceptance isn’t about denying your failings and flaws, but being mindful of them and loving yourself anyway. You’re free from worrying that you might be labeled a fraud or that people will find out that you’re not perfect.

When you know and respect yourself, it’s easier to be treated well by other people. This isn’t something that happens in an instant. It’s a journey, and until you get there, if you keep practicing self-compassion, you'll get there in time. In other words, act as if you are completely at peace with yourself.

1. LEO (July 23 - August 22)

Leos are comfortable and at ease with themselves, and it shows in the way they present themselves to the world. They tend to surround themselves with like-minded people and make sure to create a very positive support system made up of people who accept and believe in them.

One of the ways Leos learn to love themselves is by doing charitable acts. They know that when you go outside yourself and give to others, it reinforces the idea that you are worthy and that you make a difference.

RELATED: 10 Stereotypes About Leos That Are 100% WRONG

2. AQUARIUS (January 20 - February 18)

Aquarians tend to be very open and accepting of everyone else, so it makes sense that they find a way to accept themselves. Aquarius don't feel the need to conform or fit in. They create their own tribe and surround themselves with people who accept for who they are.

They have a gift for being able to let go of the past so they can be fully present in the here and now. They know who they are, and they also know what they can do to create positive change — not only for themselves but for the world.

RELATED: Spot-On Facts About The Aquarius Zodiac Sign Explain These Compassionate, Intelligent People Perfectly

3. TAURUS (April 20 - May 20)

It's very important to Taurus that they love and accept themselves for exactly how they are. They know that recognizing the truth about themselves is extremely empowering. Without having that strong inner core of self-love and acceptance, Taurus wouldn't be able to be as persistent, driven, and successful as they are.

They know no one is perfect, but if they're being open, they'd tell you that there's something very beautiful about imperfection. Taurus celebrate their considerable strengths and try to work on their weaknesses.

RELATED: The Ultimate Taurus Compatibility Guide: Understanding Love And Relationships

4. GEMINI (May 21 - June 20)

Just as Gemini has had to make peace with having so much personality (some say, a two-sided personality), they've also had to learn to come to terms with who they are. They embrace the good and the bad about themselves. They know that if they allow themselves to be intimidated by their limitations and setbacks, they'd miss out on opportunities and success.

Geminis know that they have many gifts (intelligence, social ease, sense of humor, and love of life) that make them unique and wonderful, and that self-awareness allows them to forgive their flaws.

RELATED: 12 Best Gemini Memes & Quotes That Perfectly Sum Up The Zodiac Twin's Personality Traits

5. SCORPIO (October 23-November 21)

No one is more honest with themselves than Scorpio. They're acutely aware of exactly who they are and their strengths, weaknesses, and abilities. They're so intense that if they didn't know exactly who they were, they might be shocked at some of the things they do.

Scorpios are passionate, focused, and ambitious. They need to be able to call upon their positive points so they can use them to get what they want. Scorpios are sensitive and they don't want to get blindsided by someone they thought was an ally.

RELATED: 20 Quotes That Prove Scorpio Women Are The QUEENS Of Sass

6. CAPRICORN (December 22 - January 19)

Capricorns do something that may seem odd but is actually kind of genius: They're thankful when they're not good at something. Why are they thankful? Because they know they have the ability to not only get better but will probably be able to master it. They know that with their determination and hard work, they can do almost anything.

What they don't know, they can learn. They love the challenge. They're grateful for their limitations and try to see them not as barriers to what they want, but opportunities. Capricorns know themselves and know what they're capable of, but even more exciting are the things they'll learn and grow from in the future.

RELATED: Facts About The Capricorn Zodiac Sign That Describe These Down-To-Earth, Ambitious People Perfectly

Christine Schoenwald is a writer, performer, and teacher who loves writing and performing personal narratives. She's had pieces in The Los Angeles Times, Salon, Woman's Day, Purple Clover, Bustle, and is a regular contributor to Ravishly and YourTango. Check out her website or her Facebook page.