How You Really Show Affection When You're In Love, According To Your Zodiac Sign

Photo: Goksi / Shutterstock 
man and woman cuddling on couch in love

Some people may show affection by giving you a big sloppy kiss on the lips, while others are more subtle and show they care by sending you a thank you card, and that's especially true for an Aries in love or a Pisces in love. 

Everybody has their own way of showing affection, and that applies to each sign of the zodiac. 

How a Gemini shows affection is different than how a Scorpio does, and sometimes these caring gestures can be misinterpreted if you're not sure what to look for.

Here's a sign-by-sign list, including Cancer, Libra, and Aries in love and of how each of the zodiac signs shows affection.

1. How Aries shows affection:

To show you that they care, Aries will tease you until it becomes annoying. One surprising way that Aries shows affection is by picking a fight — not a physical fight but a playful war of words, especially that of an Aries man's behavior in love. They adore bantering. 

They're also known as fantastic cuddlers, so, Aries love language is by far physical touch and another common way for them to show affection. Aries like to be touched above the neck, touching hair, ears, cheeks, head, and back of the neck. However, Aries will never go out of their way to be clingy because they know what they want and are most of the time very confident. 

RELATED: 13 Brutal Truths About Loving An Aries (As Written By One)

2. How Taurus shows affection:

Taureans are all about amazingly thoughtful gifts. They show affection by cooking you a delicious meal and sharing it with you. You know how when someone is really listening to you, you know they care?

That's a Taurus — they're riveted by what you have to say. 

RELATED: 5 Brutal Truths About Loving A Taurus (As Written By One)

3. How Gemini shows affection:

If a Gemini is always trying to make you laugh or checking to see if you're laughing so they can laugh, too, then that's their way of showing affection.

They also thrive on sharing their genius ideas and are constantly touching you on your hands, arms, and even your hair. They like to have a physical (though platonic) connection as well as an emotional one.

RELATED: 13 Brutal Truths About Loving A Gemini (As Written By One)

4. How Cancer shows affection:

Cancers will give you a random compliment with no prompting that makes you feel awesome. While they're talking your ear off about what happened at work today, they'll make you a creative and yummy snack, like an apple caramel bundt cake to show you they care.

Plus, they always make sure to have things you like at their house, just in case you come by for a visit.

RELATED: 5 Brutal Truths About Loving A Cancer (As Written By One)

5. How Leo shows affection:

While Cancers give random compliments, Leos give exaggerated ones. They like things big and splashy, and that goes with showing that they care. They'll tickle you until you can't take it anymore.

What's a major sign that a Leo has a soft spot for you? They make time for you. Leos are very active and are often booked solid, so if their schedule is open wide for lunch or coffee with you, they really care.

RELATED: 6 Brutal Truths About Loving A Leo (As Written By One)

6. How Virgo shows affection:

Do you know how you thought it was a little bit odd that your Virgo friend alphabetized your spices and arranged your books by height? Well, that's how Virgos show affection: they organize for you.

They're also incredibly sweet and will hold your hand when you need support at the doctor or when watching a scary movie.

Virgos are also big sharers and are perfectly happy to share half their milkshake with you, as long as you both have your own glasses (they can be a little fastidious).

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving A Virgo (As Written By One)

7. How Libra shows affection:

Libras are pretty nice people, but to people, they care about they're extra nice. Chances are they'll come up with a nickname for you as a way to show their affection.

Since they like a little authority, they may show their affection by wrapping their arms around you in a big hug from behind.

RELATED: 11 Brutal Truths About Loving A Libra (As Written By One)

8. How Scorpio shows affection:

While a Scorpio won't stare at you directly, they'll watch you intently — not in a creepy way, but in a way that you can tell they find you very interesting. If they care about you, they will share things that they won't tell just anybody.

When it seems as if things are getting too intense, a Scorpio will wink at you to break the tension. They're passionate but they still have a great sense of humor.

RELATED: 14 Brutal Truths About Loving A Scorpio (As Written By One)

9. How Sagittarius shows affection:

If a Sagittarius invites you to travel with them, that's equal to them shouting, "I really like you." Sagittarians express their affection by calling you almost every day and giving you endless back rubs.

They'll listen to your rants about friends and co-workers who annoy you and then will offer insightful advice. Sagittarians have got your back in more ways than one.

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving A Sagittarius (As Written By One)

10. How Capricorn shows affection:

Capricorns will loosen their normal reserve and warm up around people they care about. They'll remember what you like at your favorite restaurant and bring it with them when you're hanging out at home.

They show their affection with thoughtfulness and consideration. They'll also take selfies of you when you least expect it.

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving A Capricorn (As Written By One)

11. How Aquarius shows affection:

You won't be in the dark if an Aquarius cares for you. They'll show it to you all the time by planting kisses all over your face, sending endless texts and cute notes, warm hugs, and sometimes by doing something completely and out-of-the-box.

Who knew that building you an entertainment center perfectly measured to fit in the corner by the window was exactly what you needed?

RELATED: The Truth About Aquarius Women (As Written By One)

12. How Pisces shows affection:

When Pisces cares about you, you will get their bright smile full force throughout the day. They'll laugh at your jokes and will playfully shove you when you say something extra funny.

Another way to show that you mean something to them? A Pisces will make you art. It could be a painting, some kind of craft, or an artfully wrapped present.

RELATED: 7 Brutal Truths About Loving A Pisces (As Written By One)

Christine Schoenwald is a writer and performer. She's had articles in The Los Angeles Times, Salon, and Woman's Day. Visit her website or and her Instagram.