What The Seven Deadly Sins In The Bible Mean — And How To Avoid Them All

Photo: Getty
woman looking up

Nobody's perfect. Everyone has a vice of some sort of bad habit or vice that trips them up from time-to-time. Yours might be eating too much chocolate when stress eating or binge-watching television for an entire day in bed when you know you should be doing chores.

You can call it a bad habit or a harmless desire for too much, but according to the Christian faith, there are seven deadly sins which involve acting in excess to the point of bodily harm.

What are the seven deadly sins mentioned in the Bible?

Listed in order, the seven deadly sins are:

  • Lust
  • Gluttony
  • Greed
  • Sloth
  • Wrath
  • Envy
  • Pride

For Christians, these seven sins are transgressions that come with severe repercussions, as committing one or more is said to be detrimental to your personal relationship with God.

RELATED: 30 Faith Quotes & Bible Verse Tattoo Ideas

A sin is an act that is committed by someone when they are behaving in an immoral, disrespectful, and self-gratifying way. Sins are what keep humans in check in the eyes of the Lord. With that being said, let's walk through each of the seven deadly sins and break down their meanings, as well as how to avoid each.

The seven deadly sins in the Bible and how to avoid each

1. Lust

"But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart." — Matthew 5:28

Lust is the longing or desire to have sexual relations. The Lord praises chastity and wants his followers to wait until marriage before giving in to any sexual lust. He preaches self-control and wants us to focus our energy on helping our partner in other ways before giving in to any sexual tendencies.

How to avoid the sin of lust: The best way to avoid lust with your partner is to seek God when the desires become too strong before marriage.

RELATED: What Does The Christian Bible Say About Fornication & Adultery

2. Gluttony

"Therefore, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God." — 1 Corinthians 10:31

Gluttony is defined by the Bible as any excessive intake of food or drink. The Lord preaches restraint to become a healthier person, restricting themselves from wasted calories and therefore making them more fit to help and serve others.

How to avoid the sin of gluttony: To prevent yourself from falling into the act of gluttony, it is best to only consume foods that will help your body thrive.

3. Greed

"Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man's life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions." — Luke 12:15

Greed is any need or pursuit for materialistic items. Whether it is buying something to better serve oneself or purchasing something unneeded for survival, greed is present when someone has a desire for materialistic goods.

How to avoid the sin of greed: In order to counteract greed, it is best to take on charity work and provide for those in need.

4. Sloth

"The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied." — Proverbs 13:4

Sloth is extreme laziness or someone's restraint to using their talents. In simpler terms, instead of sitting around and watching Netflix all day, it is best to get out there and put your able body to work (just kidding, kind of).

How to avoid the sin of sloth: In all seriousness, it is best to avoid the act of sloth by becoming more diligent. Put your need for relaxation aside and push yourself to make the most of your short time of Earth.

5. Wrath

"Fools give full vent to their anger, but the wise bring calm in the end." — Proverbs 29:11

Wrath is any extreme anger or hatred towards a person. When you seek out hatred in your heart, it is considered to be one of the seven deadly sins.

How to avoid the sin of wrath: In order to prevent wrath from consuming your life, it is important to be patient and learn the thoughts of others. Being patient allows us to understand the way others act and therefore allows us to act with forgiveness rather than hate.

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Join now for YourTango's trending articles, top expert advice and personal horoscopes delivered straight to your inbox each morning.

RELATED: What Does The Bible Say About Divorce & Remarriage, According To Scripture

6. Envy

"A sound heart is life to the body, but envy is rottenness to the bones." — Proverbs 14:30

Envy is any desire to have something that another has. This envy usually comes from a materialistic item, a job opportunity, or a significant other.

How to avoid the sin of envy: Instead of longing for what another has, be thankful for the gifts you have been given. Being a kind and genuine person will allow you to put envy aside and praise the life you have been blessed with.

7. Pride

"The Lord Almighty planned it, to bring down her pride in all her splendor and to humble all who renowned on the Earth." — Isaiah 23:9

Pride is putting yourself above others and believing you are better than the rest. If you begin to have no regard for anothers' feelings or health, you are committing the sin of pride.

How to avoid the sin of pride: Boosting your sense of humility will lower the sense of pride and remove a horrible ego. Putting your pride aside will allow you to better assist God and the world around you.

RELATED: How To Handle A Cheater, According To The Bible

Carlie Fox is a writer who covers astrology, pop culture, and relationship topics.