Love, Zodiac

5 Zodiac Signs Whose Love Language Is Gift-Giving

Photo: getty
5 Zodiac Signs Whose Love Language Is Gift-Giving.

Every human on earth expresses love in their own way. According to the book The Five Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman, there are five distinct ways that you express love, and we call them the love languages. However, the problem is that you may express and understand love one way and your partner another.

The five love languages are Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Gift Giving, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. A person may use one or more of these ways to express our love. And since our zodiac signs influence our personalities in astrology, it’s not a leap to think that they also help determine our love language.

You’d think that gift giving would be everybody’s primary love language. Who doesn't like getting a present or choosing the perfect gift for someone? The truth is, not everyone is comfortable with gifts. If you grew up in a family that didn't believe in spontaneously giving gifts or if there wasn't ever any thought that went into gift giving, that’s probably not going to be your way of expressing love.

Some people don’t have a talent for giving gifts and will grab on to something that takes the guesswork out of giving presents, such as finding out their partner really likes gift cards or has a collection of salt and pepper shakers, so that with every occasion that requires a gift, they can give some variation on the theme.

However, if you’re the type of person that’s always on the lookout for the perfect gift and feels a tremendous amount of satisfaction when the recipient of the gift is overjoyed by the thoughtfulness and appropriateness of it, then gift giving may be your love language.

1. LEO (July 23 - August 22)

Leos loving buying, giving and receiving gifts. They love the whole process of shopping, finding the perfect gift, seeing the recipients' face light up, and feeling that the present was exactly the right thing to express their love.

With Leo, the gifts they give aren't small tokens or something that they grabbed at the drugstore; they like to buy big dazzling gifts — the more extravagant, the better. It's almost as if Leo doesn't trust that their love is enough of a gift. On the other hand, they don't need their partner to spend a ton of money on their gift, as long as it comes from the heart.  

RELATED: 10 Stereotypes About Leos That Are 100% WRONG

2. LIBRA (September 23 - October 22)

Libras love getting gifts and they pride themselves on being excellent gift-givers when they put their mind to it. Sometimes Libra will wait until the last minute to get a gift for a loved one and then have a hard time making a decision.

It's not unlike a Libra to get a backup gift or two so that if they change their mind at the last moment, they're covered. Plus, they'll have some spare gifts for when the next gift-giving opportunity pops up. They also love getting gifts, especially romantic ones, as it makes them feel as warm and gooey inside.

RELATED: 21 Quotes That Prove Libras Just Want (And Deserve) To Be Loved

3. CAPRICORN (December 22 - January 19)

Sometimes Capricorns get sick of always being so reliable and predictable, so they like to shake things up sometimes and give someone they love an unexpected and fun gift. Capricorns also love getting gifts because they like having something that is tangible proof of love.

Gifts are special to this zodiac sign and they don't give them to just anybody. They aren't going to spend their money on a gift for someone who doesn't mean something to them if they absolutely don't have to.

RELATED: 25 Best Sea-Goat & Constellation Tattoo Ideas For Capricorn Zodiac Signs

4. TAURUS (April 20 - May 20)

Tauruses are tremendous gift-givers and it's usually something that the receiver had no idea they wanted. But when they get it, they can't get over how perfect it is. Taurus' secret is that they have very good taste, an eye for detail, and a deep appreciation for beauty.

What this means is that Taurus can be very difficult to please because their gift standards are so high. The gifts they give are fabulous and on point, so if you can't give them the same level of gift to them, don't bother. This zodiac sign would rather get the gift of your time or attention than some poorly thought-out or poor quality gift.

RELATED: 5 Reasons Why A Taurus Will Love You Better Than Anyone Else

5. SAGITTARIUS (November 22 - December 21)

For someone who isn't into material goods, Sagittarius flips the script when it comes to gift-giving. They absolutely love giving presents to the people they love. Usually, these gifts are something they picked up on their travels, demonstrating how no matter where Sagittarius is, they're always thinking of you.

The kind of gifts that this sign appreciates for themselves are the gifts of experiences, such as a gift certificate for an Italian cooking class or a document saying that a star was named for them which includes a promise to go stargazing. 

RELATED: Facts About The Sagittarius Zodiac Sign That Explain These Adventurous, Energetic People Perfectly

Christine Schoenwald is a writer, performer, and astrology lover. She has written over 500 articles on the zodiac signs and how the stars influence us. She's had articles in The Los Angeles Times, Salon, Woman's Day, and is a contributing writer to Ravishly, I AM & CO, and YourTango. Check out her website, her Facebook writer's page, and her Instagram.