18 Sexy Secrets Of Online Dating

By ,

18 Sexy Secrets Of Online Dating [EXPERT]
... featuring YourTango Experts' best-kept secrets about online dating!

7. Play the odds. The more you interact online and shift through the great and not-so-great matches, the more likely you will attract a gem who was worth all of the trials and errors. Have fun and date like a rock star until you have met the match whom you have a connection with and who meets your standards, values and compatibility. —Shay "Your Date Diva" Williams

8. Be available and attainable. Being "available" means having the willingness to date and being "attainable" means being able to commit to a long-term relationship. When you project the attitude of being available you project a positive attitude when you walk into the room and are open to whatever excitement or experience lies ahead. —Shay "Your Date Diva" Williams

 

9. Remember, this is for you. Don't feel pressured to respond to everyone who responds to you. The beauty of online dating is that you can keep whatever boundaries you feel comfortable with, so take advantage of that. —Laurel Fay

10. Develop a polite way to reject people. Have a few short sentences that you can pull when you want someone to stop contacting you, like, "Thanks for contacting me, but I don't think we're a good match. Good luck!" Keep it short and sweet — you don't have to make excuses for why you're not interested. —Laurel Fay

11. Don't get discouraged. You're bound to meet some people you thought might be a match and yet it turns out ... not so much. Remember you're trying this because it's an adventure! Be selective but still give people a chance. You never know when you might hit gold. —Laurel Fay

12. Trust your instincts. Your gut is never wrong. If someone looks great on paper, but when you meet the person, you are not inspired by them, not attracted to them and the conversation doesn’t flow, don’t second guess yourself. Many people suffer and feel overwhelmed with self-doubt and a fear of loss when it seems like you might be missing out. You’re not. He/she might be great, just not great for you. —Bari Lyman

13. Leave the past behind you. Attachment to old boyfriends/girlfriends, former dates or former spouses can clog you up energetically and leave no room for the one. By closing doors on the past with the people and situations with whom you have regrets or still think about, you are clearing a channel to welcome new love into your life. Get complete from the past and watch what happens! —Bari Lyman

Article contributed by

YourTango Experts

Business Coach

We're here and happy to help! Please email our team:

Melanie Gorman: melanie@yourtango.com

Susan Boyd: susan@yourtango.com

Tina Grimsley: tinag@yourtango.com

Natalie Schubert:  natalies@yourtango.com

Judy Strain:  judy@yourtango.com

Katie Sleeper:  katie@yourtango.com

Cris Gladly:  cris@yourtango.com

Diana Frustaci:  diana@yourtango.com

Location: New York, NY
Credentials: Other
Specialties: Couples/Marital Issues, Dating/Being Single Support, Parenting
 
PARTNER POSTS
Latest Expert Videos
ASK YOURTANGO MORE QUESTIONS
Must-see Videos
SEE MORE VIDEOS
Most Popular