2011 Oscar Nominations And Predictions

By

Oscar statuette
Our picks for the winners of the 83rd Annual Academy Awards.

2011 Oscars here we come! We've watched the movies, studied the 83rd Academy Award nominations and created two lists. First, predictions for who will win the Academy Award in each of eight categories, and who would win the 2011 Oscar if YourTango stuffed the envelopes. Our criteria? The most realistic, relatable, helpful and smartest portrayals of romantic relationships. Let us know if you agree with us and who YOU would choose to win the 2011 Academy Awards.

Oh, and in case you were wondering how to watch the Oscars, here's the info you need:

When are the Oscars? Sunday, February 27th
What time are the Oscars? 8 pm EST/5 pm PST. Red Carpet coverage starts at 7 pm EST/4 pm PST
What's new this year? ABC will show the Oscars live on television, and this year fans can get additional coverage at Oscar.com. You'll be able to see the stars backstage, view the hair and makeup areas, watch extra red carpet coverage and more.

And now, nominations and predictions for the 2011 Academy Awards...

Best Picture Prediction

And the 2011 Oscar nominees are...

  • Black Swan
  • The Fighter
  • Inception
  • The Kids Are All Right
  • The King’s Speech
  • 127 Hours
  • The Social Network
  • Toy Story 3
  • True Grit
  • Winter’s Bone

We think the Academy Award will go to The King's Speech. It's a critical favorite and crowd-pleaser and we feel that the Academy will follow suit. 

But if we chose the Oscar winner it would be The Kids Are All Right. It's unlikely that a small independent film will walk away with the biggest award of the night, but if the Academy was looking for a realistic portrayal of relationship, it would certainly go to this film. Though the specifics of their situation are unfamiliar to most people, the larger themes—individual identity within a marriage, forgiveness, how to stay interested in a partner over the long-term—will be relatable to many. Plus it had the funniest sex scene we've seen in ages.

Best Actor Prediction

And the 2011 Oscar nominees are...

We think the Academy Award will go to Jesse Eisenberg in The Social Network. He was the breakout actor of the year and deserves the award.

But if we chose the Oscar winner it would be Colin Firth in The King's Speech, because the royal marriage at the heart of The King's Speech showed a partnership based on mutual love and respect, communication and unfailing support.

GET MORE ARTICLES LIKE THIS IN YOUR INBOX!

Sign up for our daily email and get the stories everyone is talking about.

Must-see Videos
SEE MORE VIDEOS
Stories We Love
FROM AROUND THE WEB
  • No smoking! Two cigarettes a day can result in softer erections in men, since nicotine tightens blood vessels and restricts blood flow.